The Condensed Matter Theory Group in May 2024 in front of LOMA. Top row (from left to right): Elodie Millan, Thomas Guérin, Alois Würger, Pierre Vallet, Guillaume Bertel, Jérôme Cayssol, Maxime Lavaud, Yousif Shokeeb, David Dean, Clément Dutreix, Najlae Zkiri, Théo Martinaud. Lowest row (from left to right): Pierre Gresil, Antonio Salame, Simon Villain-Guillot, Saber Rostam Zadeh, Apurba Biswas, Marc Lagoin, Aditya Jha, Alpesh Sheth, Ludovic Jaubert, Hari Razanajatovo, Quentim Ferreira, Andrea Gaspari, Alexandre Buzdin, Jonathan Wise, Sébastien Burdin (front), Kelvin Salou-Smith (behind Sébastien Burdin), Adrien Blanche, Vadim Plastovets, Julie Fourneyron, Fabio Pistolesi (Head of lab), Thomas Salez. (Thanks to Yann Louyer)

Our activities range from statistical physics to quantum condensed-matter physics, mostly close to experiment. An non-exhaustive list includes colloidal transport, fluctuation of liquid interfaces, stochastic processes, correlated fermions, quantum magnetism, unconventional superconductivity, hybrid superconducting systems, nano mechanical systems hybrid superconducting systems, nano mechanical systems, organic semiconductors, quantum transport, and topological matter.

Faculty Members

Rémi Avriller, CNRS Researcher
Thomas Bickel, UB Professor
Sebastien Burdin, UB Associate Professor
Alexandre Buzdin, UB and IUF Professor
Jérome Cayssol, UB Professor
David Dean, UB and IUF Professor
Clément Dutreix, CNRS Researcher
Dietrich Foerster, UB Emeritus Professor
Thomas Guerin, CNRS Researcher
Ludovic Jaubert, CNRS Researcher
Janis Kliava, UB Emeritus Professor
Fabio Pistolesi, CNRS Research Director
Thomas Salez, CNRS Researcher

Mathieu Saubanère, CNRS Researcher

Simon Villain Guillot, UB Associate Professor
Alois Würger, UB Professor

UB: Université de Bordeaux
CNRS: Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
IUF: Honorary member of the Institut Universitaire de France


PhD students and Postdocs

Andres BEJARANO, PhD student
Guillaume BERTEL, PhD student
Apurba BISWAS, PhD student
Caroline KOPECZ-MULLER, PhD Student
Maxime LAVAUD, Postdoc
Nicolas FARES, PhD student
Quentin FERREIRA, PhD student
Andrea GASPARI, PhD student
Aditya JHA, Postdoc
Juliette LACHEREZ, PhD student
Marc LAGOIN, PhD student
Elodie MILLAN, PhD student
Louis NOURI, PhD student
Vadim PLASTOVETS, PhD Student
Andrianomentsoa (Hari) RAZANAJATOVO, PhD student
Saber ROSTAM ZADEH, Postdoc
Alpesh SHETH, PhD student
Thibault SEUWIN, PhD Student
Pierre VALLET ,PhD Student
Toni VIEIRA MENDES, PhD student
Jonathan WISE, Postdoc


The Condensed Matter Theory Group in October 2017 in front of LOMA. (Thanks to Benjamin Masset)